Quick Trip to Washington DC

I had to make a quick business trip to Washington DC earlier this week and since I was only there for 36 hours, it was packed with meetings and site visits.  My boss and I found a little bit of down time between 2 meetings and headed out to see some monuments. I love Washington DC as a tourist destination; I honestly think it’s the best city in the US to visit. There’s more to do and see there than Chicago and LA, and maybe even New York.  And there’s so much history!

Lincoln Memorial

Lincoln Memorial

First, we went to the Lincoln Memorial, from where you get a direct view of the Washington Monument. The reflecting pool, which just reopened 6 months ago after a multi-million dollar renovation that spanned 2 years, looked a bit frozen.

Lincoln Memorial (l) and Washington Monument (r)

Lincoln Memorial (l) and Washington Monument (r)

On our way back to the car, we took a slight detour to the Korean War Veterans Memorial.  The memorial reminds us that “Freedom is not Free.

Korean War Veterans Memorialq

Korean War Veterans Memorial

We were on a roll so we decided to fit in the Jefferson Memorial as well.  I noticed that for all of these memorials in DC, they make you park far away and hike to where you’re going. Luckily, we went during the day on a Monday; I can only imagine how chaotic it is on the weekend.  The Jefferson Memorial was not as overrun by Chinese tourists as the Lincoln Memorial and we had a moment to take in the tranquility and serenity.

Approaching the Jefferson Memorial

Approaching the Jefferson Memorial

Looking up in the Jefferson Memorial

Looking up in the Jefferson Memorial

On the second evening, we stayed at the Ritz Carlton Georgetown due to their good corporate rates.  The last time I went to Georgetown was when I was a high school senior attending an event for admitted students to the university.  Can you believe that was 10 years ago?

Georgetown University

Georgetown University

I took the time in the morning to reacquaint myself with the area and I found it to be such a lovely area.

Ritz Carlton Georgetown

Ritz Carlton Georgetown; looks very industrial

The hotel is near the C&O Canal and walking along it takes you back to another era. Unfortunately, the canal is currently completely drained but I’m sure it’s very interesting when the weather is nicer.  The hotel is also just a block from the Potomac River and I walked along Georgetown Waterfront Park and looked across to Rosslyn.

The Potomac

The Potomac

Waterfront - Kennedy Center

Waterfront – Kennedy Center

There’s nothing quite like Georgetown in the Los Angeles area; I think the closest to it may be Old Town Pasadena.  It’s very charming, indeed.  I’ll have to go back again when I have more time.

Cady's Alley in Georgetown

Cady’s Alley in Georgetown

Row houses in Georgetown

Row houses in Georgetown

2 thoughts on “Quick Trip to Washington DC

  1. I visited Washington DC 20 years ago with my high school and I still remember how awesome it was!! I would have to agree with you about it being ONE of the best cities in the US to visit, it’s definitely amazing to see all those famous monuments in person. Lucky you, you get to travel for work. I will be going to NY this August on vacation, any good tips for me? Thanks and cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

